Ion Insider Launch

I’m officially one of the ION Insiders! I’ll be covering the Lifestyle aspect of my favourite mall in Singapore! #excites

When I first got hold of the news I was ecstatic!  tuzki-bunny-emoticon-003

The inaugural Ion Insider launch was held two weeks ago at Gustos (Level 1) and I get to meet the rest of the ION Insiders as well. Some of them will be covering Fashion, Beauty and Food.

161

I was seated next to Charmaine and we both brought our other half to the event as well.  Gustos is an Italian bistro in an al fresco setting and is extended outside. I’ve been there once before (coincidentally also with my blogger friends) and it’s a nice place to wind down after work.

130

The highlight of the night was the mini cocktail-making session which I had completely forgotten about. We were told to  do a bit of research on the type of cocktail that we want to make that night, so that they can prepare the ingredients beforehand. Before we begin the cocktail-making session, Sharul, the bartender actually did a quick introduction and told us his secret to making good cocktails.

What  makes a good cocktail is to not make people drunk

He also did a demonstration on two signature cocktails, and shared his experience. Charmaine and I went first to mix our cocktails.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My choice of poison was rum. Knowing that rum is usually the sweeter option, I wanted my cocktail to pack a punch as well.

So I mixed it with grapefruit juice, passion fruit syrup, dash of cocktail bitters and chocolate liqueur.  For my cocktail, a lot of it was just choose, smell, whack, estimate and shake them well. Hahaha. I topped it off with a slice of grapefruit; colour-wise it’s a dull orange -__-.

261

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

250

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

297

lemony

Then we had to name the cocktail and elaborate on our creations. My beverage is targeted for the sophisticated and independent woman, whose work has been wearing her down and this cocktail is meant to wake up her senses (sweet and sour with a unique aftertaste) and encourage her to press on for the rest of the week. Hence, the name motivatION. Fighting!!

329

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After half an hour, the judges tried all the cocktails, described the taste of each cocktail and made their choice….

.

.

.

motivatION won! 

334

Happy creator is happy. Sharul says he’ll be tweaking the drink a little and my creation will be available for sale at Gusto for a week this month. tuzki-bunny-emoticon-036

307

Do remember to hop over to ION Insider to check out what goes on backstage at ION Orchard, the latest seasonal trends in high street stores, new foodie haunts, creative lifestyle solutions, all things essential in beauty,and low-down on events happening in ION!

Leave a Reply

