All Day Brunch @ The Marmalade Pantry

Weekends are now made sweeter at ION Orchard with The Marmalade Pantry‘s newly launched all-day brunch menu. Beginning from 6 September onwards, early shoppers of ION Orchard can enjoy a hearty brunch (from 9am onwards) before they start shopping.
[ Promotion! Enjoy your 4th dish free with every 3 brunch orders. Valid from 9AM – 11AM, till 26 Oct 2014. ]  

unnamed-1
Before my trip to The Marmalade Pantry (TMP) last month, I have only been there once for dinner with my girlfriends. TMP sits prominently in the central atrium on level 3 of ION Orchard, and has been known for its modern bistro serving fusion cuisine. This is the first time that TMP offers a brunch menu so we (Charmaine, Dennis and Eric the Smart One) were pretty excited to gather and try out the dishes – old and new.
Since I arrived late, the others have already ordered on my behalf. I only added one more item to the list – THE MARMALADE CAPRESE. This one is for the salad lover who prefers a light flavour. You can have it as an appetizer, or a snack after the meal. I personally find that the texture of Caprese interesting with the combination of buffalo milk mozzarella, fresh tomatoes/peppers and basil marmalade.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 There were four brunch items that we tried:
 

1. BANANAS AND BERRIES HOTCAKES
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
What I like: The pancakes are drizzled with a generous amount of butter, maple syrup and pieces of honeycomb (see above pic)! Pancakes also taste better when you add fresh fruits in them. 🙂
What I didn’t like: The pancakes were a little too dense for my liking, but this is subjective as the rest of my company liked it.


2. FRENCH TOAST
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
What I like: Perfect pairing of caramelized pear and vanilla bean ice cream; toast was thick and nice too.
What they didn’t like: Those who doesn’t have a sweet tooth will probably find this too sweet.

3. CHORIZO FRITTATA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This Italian-style omelette is  filled with wood roasted red piquillo pepper and baby potatoes.

What I like: Yummy AND nutritious.

What I didn’t like: Have to be eaten hot/warm.

 

4. EGGS BENEDICT OR EGGS FLORENTINE

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What I like: The eggs were nicely done.

What I didn’t like: For somebody who likes rich flavours, this dish actually tastes rather bland.

 

The other Ala Carte items we tried:

 

1. THE MARMALADE MAC AND CHEESE

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of my favourite dishes at TMP, this Mac&Cheese packs a punch and is served on a skillet with mozzarella, parmesan, emmental and gruyere ($24++).</I
What I like: Melt-in-your-mouth cheesey goodness!
What I don’t like: May have difficulty in finishing this alone as item is quite ‘heavy’.
 

2. TRUFFLED FIELD MUSHROOM RISOTTO (WITH HERB OIL) 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATMP’s risotto is one of the best that I’ve had!  ❤
What I like: Savoury, fragrant risotto with a strong earthy mushroom taste. I love almost any truffle-flavoured dish heheh.

What I didn’t like: Similar to the Mac & Cheese, this dish can prove to be quite challenging to finish if you’re dining alone and tastes best when eaten hot.

 

3. ORIENTAL GRILLED SALMON WITH SOBA 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Customers with an acquired taste may like this dish and this item is sweet and tangy.
What I like: Salmon was fresh and soft!
What I didn’t like: The soba doesn’t taste like the usual Japanese soba (perhaps this was a deliberate effort) I have so i guess I disappointed myself there because of my own expectations lol.

If you and your friends are looking for a brunch venue this weekend ,TMP’s WEEKEND BRUNCH PROMOTION is still on for the next two weekends so don’t miss out this deal this October! 🙂
[ Promotion! Enjoy your 4th dish free with every 3 brunch orders. Valid from 9AM – 11AM, till 26 Oct 2014. ]  
P.S. Special thanks to Sweta for  being such a hospitable and bubbly host! 😀 

The Marmalade Pantry (In The City)
Address: 2 Orchard Turn #03-22
ION Orchard Singapore 238801
Reservations: 6734 2700
Leave a Reply

